mersenneforum.org  

Go Back   mersenneforum.org > Factoring Projects > Factoring

Old 2006-11-05, 23:58   #1
Visu

Nov 2006
Singapore

4B16 Posts
Default A new prime factoring algorithm?

Hi would appreciate any feedback on this method I've developed. I've also attached a pdf for those who wish to look at it in their own time.I've been unable to test it out since I am not a programmer but I think the math is sound.

Best Regards

Visu

If the number to be factored is N, express it in the form (a12 + a22 +...+ an2) – (b12 + b22 +...+ bn2 )
This can be done by the following procedure

a12 – N = k1 (where a1 is the next integer > (N)1/2 )
b12 – k1 = k2
and so on until kn = 0

Now [(a12 + a22 +...+ an2) + k ] = A2 and [(b12 + b22 +...+ bn2 ) + k] = B2 - (1)
where N = A2 – B2
one value of A and B is given by A = ((N+1)/2) and B = ((N-1)/2) and for prime numbers this is the only way to express N as a difference of two squares and hence there will only be one value of k which can be easily found . We will refer to this as k1 . For odd composite numbers there will be other values of k satisfying the equation corresponding to the number of factors they have. We now obtain a binary quadratic equation corresponding to N using the above information.
We do this as follows:

(a1 + 1)2 – (a12 + a22 +...+ an2) =d1

(a1 + 2)2 – (a12 + a22 +...+ an2) =d2

(a1 + 3)2 – (a12 + a22 +...+ an2) =d3

and likewise for b to get e1, e2 and e3. Next using calculus of finite difference we obtain

d1 d2 d3
d4 d5 d6

where we subtract the number on the left from its neighbor on the right to obtain the next row.
And proceed to obtain the equation:
1/2(d6)x2 + (d4-(1/2d6))x +d1 = 1/2(e6)y2 + (e4-(1/2e6))y + e1
This is a Diophantine equation of the form A x2 + Bxy + C y2 + Dx + Ey + F = 0. While there are analytical methods to solve this type of equation they involve the use of factorization which we wish to avoid. Hence we will go by the rational point on conics route. Using