mersenneforum.org  

Go Back   mersenneforum.org > Great Internet Mersenne Prime Search > Hardware > GPU Computing

Old 2011-12-13, 19:03   #1
diamonddave

Feb 2004

25×5 Posts
Default Seiving on GPU

I recently started preliminary work on sieving on GPU (mfaktc). Right now I'm just at the design stage/proof of concept. Since it's my first time doing any programing on GPU let alone 10 years away from C/C++, things are going a bit slower then expected. Also the debugging experience is far from ideal!

Just getting the environment working was more work then I thought!

Right now it look like a second card is required to do kernel code debugging. No wonder I haven't gone very far! Does anyone know if the newer release of the tools require a second card to debug kernels? Right now I'm using 4.1 RC2, VS 2010 and Parallel Nsight 2.0

Right now I'm planing on using CUDA 4.1, could that pose a problem?

I was looking for some instruction timing manual but have come-up empty!

I'll keep you guys posted on the progress...
diamonddave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-12-14, 01:21   #2
Ken_g6

Jan 2005
Caught in a sieve

5×79 Posts

It shouldn't require two cards for debugging. When I developed ppsieve_cuda, initially, I actually didn't use any cards! CUDA 2.3 was the last version, I believe that included a GPU emulator. Unless you're using some of the newer library functions, I see little reason why you couldn't try debugging on CUDA 2.3 with the emulator, if you can't get anything else to work.

I also notice you're using a Release Candidate version. Aren't the released GPU tools buggy enough for you? (I find that most GPU tools are fairly buggy, one way or another.)
Ken_g6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-12-14, 01:46   #3
Ken_g6

Jan 2005
Caught in a sieve

5×79 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by diamonddave View Post
I was looking for some instruction timing manual but have come-up empty!