mersenneforum.org  

Go Back   mersenneforum.org > Great Internet Mersenne Prime Search > Hardware

Old 2013-03-09, 11:56   #1
mbn451

Mar 2013

11002 Posts
Default Maximized Setup and Other Questions

Hey so I am fairly new to the site and crunching, and I have a few basic, newbie questions.

1.) Say I had 2-3k to spend trying to find a world record prime, what would be the best way to spend it? Would it be better to just build a really strong single machine, or to try building a cluster that I could add to if/when I wanted to spend more resources towards the effort?

2.) If building a cluster is the best option, what is a good starting point? I am a biologist by profession, so my computer skills are only hobbyist level-but I really want to learn more!

3.) I am currently running Prime95 on a desktop with an Intel core i5 750, and it seems to be underperforming. Interestingly each worker seems to be slower than the next, with worker 1 being 60% done and worker 4 being only 40% done with a first time LL. The exponents are slightly higher on each core, but I don't see a similar trend with my quad core iMac that is blazing away at LL.

4.) Which factoring method (P-1 or TF) would yield the most work units per day? Would they theoretically be the same?

5.) Any suggested way to "clean up" a computer so that it runs faster? I have of course gone into task manager and ended processes that seem non-essential (a slightly harder task than it sounds considering confusing process names) but is there anything else I can do?

If anybody has any insights I would be happy to hear them, thanks!
mbn451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-03-09, 19:47   #2
Dubslow
Basketry That Evening!

"Bunslow the Bold"
Jun 2011
40<A<43 -89<O<-88

11100001101012 Posts