mersenneforum.org  

Go Back   mersenneforum.org > Extra Stuff > Programming

Old 2012-07-12, 12:03   #1
NullCoding

Jul 2012
Carlisle, PA USA

410 Posts
Default Using Programming to earn Primes

I'm completely self-taught in programming. I've used this username since 2008 or so, but needless to say, it used to be accurate!

Lately I've been teaching myself C++, which means I have also been learning C. I tend to approach things first from a C perspective, and then see how C++ re-implements that function if applicable.

I'm not looking for programming tips so much as very specific advice I feel like I would definitely find on this forum (and not many other places).

I've only been at it for a week or so, but I have written a small program that accurately calculates Proth numbers based on a user input of k and a value of 2^n from a pre-made input file (a simple array). I used a simple for loop to find factors. You can see the code here.

That program is obviously very limited. But it's useful if you want to check if 11 or 47 are indeed still prime.

Now I'm working on a version using the MPIR library, which I assume is known here as a fork of GMP. I'd love to eventually use gwnum as well, since I've seen through PrimeGrid what it's capable of. I tried installing FFTW as well, but those libraries use decorated functions and I've a 64-bit system, so there are some incompatibilities I've yet to sort out.

Using MPIR, I have gotten the program to accept user input of k and input from a file in a manner identical to my previous program - except this file contains up to 2^100 - and subsequently return a possibly very large Proth number. I am still working on a feasible division loop, since there is no distinct modulus function I can evaluate in MPIR (it returns an integer as a separate function).