mersenneforum.org  

Go Back   mersenneforum.org > Great Internet Mersenne Prime Search > Hardware

Old 2006-10-18, 16:39   #1
WileECoyote

Sep 2006
Turlock, CA

5 Posts
Default Problems running Prime95 on a dual processor

I have been running Prime95 since 2000, but this is the first time I've run it on a dual core processor. I just built a new box with a AMD X2 4200+. When I ran one copy of Prime95 on CPU 0, the Task Manager showed the CPU usage capped at 50%, so I was sure it was running on just one processor.

Then I blew the drive away and put in a larger hard drive. After running two copies of Prime95 according to the instructions and using different affinities, the Task Manager says copies are running at more than 50% of the CPU. Sometimes it's 72%-23%. Moreover, when I look at the iteration times in the windows, it's .200. But when the computer is idle, the times go down to .037.. Before I blew the hard drive away, I noticed System Idle Processes was sucking a lot of CPU cycles. But I was running a new, clean XP installation both times. I hadn't installed anything except device drivers.

So Prime95 works at the expected speed, after the screen saver kicks in. But it runs much slower when I look at the window. It's like the refrigerator light! I'm really confused as to what's going on.

Can anyone shed a litle light on the situation?
WileECoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-10-19, 05:01   #2
JuanTutors

"Juan Tutors"
Mar 2004

13·43 Posts

I don't have a good answer, and I hope someone does. What I do on my INTEL dual core is not bother with affinities. My copies both run at 50%, even at priority 1. The system idle process gets no time at all. I don't know if the AMD chips are different, though.

Hope that helps.
JuanTutors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-10-19, 07:05   #3
Cruelty

May 2005

22×11×37 Posts