mersenneforum.org  

Go Back   mersenneforum.org > Math Stuff > Computer Science & Computational Number Theory > PARI/GP

Old 2020-03-19, 15:08   #1
Andrew99

Aug 2019

11 Posts
Default Solving Quartic Equation with a Coefficient of 1 MB Space

I have an equation of 4 degree (Quartic equation)and a coefficient of this equation takes 1 megabyte space in a text file. I want to solve this Quartic equation using computer. If the the equation has rational solution, I want to get rational solution with the exact numerator and the exact denominator (not the approximation). Is it possible?

There are are programming languages (e.g. MAGMA), computer algebra systems (e.g. PARI/GP, SageMath etc, here PARI is C library, can be called from a high-level language application ,for instance, written in C, C++, Pascal, Fortran, Perl, or Python).

If possible, then which programming language or computer algebra systems or library or softaware will be best to solve the Quartic equation as described above? What are the additional issues (configurations of RAM, Processor)?
Andrew99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2020-03-19, 20:22   #2
R.D. Silverman

Nov 2003

22·5·373 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew99 View Post
I have an equation of 4 degree (Quartic equation)and a coefficient of this equation takes 1 megabyte space in a text file. I want to solve this Quartic equation using computer. If the the equation has rational solution, I want to get rational solution with the exact numerator and the exact denominator (not the approximation). Is it possible?
We need more information. Is the polynomial constant a prime number?
Is the lead coefficient a prime? [or monic]? If not, are these coefficients special in some way?

Please explain why you need/want to do this.

Also, please show us that you have some understanding of the problem by explaining
why I asked what I did. Why are these questions important?