Go Back   mersenneforum.org > Great Internet Mersenne Prime Search > Software

Old 2011-02-04, 16:24   #1
chalsall
If I May

"Chris Halsall"
Sep 2002
Barbados

26EA16 Posts
Default Advice on Windows Development options...

Hey all. I'm hoping I might be able to get some advice from those who program under Windows.

First, a bit of context:

I have been programming for 25 years; I am "fluent" in C, C++, Perl, Java, Javascript and SQL. I can deal with several other languages, including four assembly languages. I'm not a "nobb" when it comes to coding.

But... I am of the "old school"... I prefer to work at the command line, using my own editing tools, and then pass the files through the assemble/compile/link chain using "make". I hate IDEs.

And I hate Windows! Never use it myself. Unix is my comfort zone.

Next, the driving problem:

Ironically, I have a need of developing a Windows application / service.

Requirements:

1. Fairly simple GUI. Less complex than Prime95.
2. Ability to do ICMP network work.
3. Ability to do TCP network work.
4. Ability to run in the background at start-up/login (much like Prime95).

So, what I'm hoping to get advise on is...

What do people recommend for a development environment for someone like me developing an application with the above requirements?

I'm willing to pay for the environment, but I generally prefer to use Open Source solutions whenever possible.

Is cross compiling an option from Linux to a Windows application with the above requirements (particularly the GUI)? If not, I will run the development environment under Windows inside a virtual machine.

I'd prefer to code in C for this, but C++ is an option if C isn't possible. C# is out; Java can't do the network work needed.

Any and all advice greatly appreciated. I haven't had to code under Windows for 12 years. (Borland' C environment, for anyone who's wondering.)

Thanks.
chalsall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-02-04, 17:04   #2
ET_
Banned

"Luigi"
Aug 2002