Old 2018-08-05, 20:43   #1
fivemack
(loop (#_fork))

Feb 2006
Cambridge, England

22·32·179 Posts
Default Different Career Discussion Thread

Hello all,

I have a PhD in computational maths and about fifteen years of software engineering experience in the government, commercial and scientific sectors. I read voraciously across multiple disciplines; I've found that I seem to work much more happily on projects with month-scale than multi-year-scale deadlines, and much better in small teams than alone or as part of a giant shambling inchoate project.

Which sounds as if contracting is probably for me. What I don't know is how on Earth you go about getting started in contracting. I suspect I'm in the right part of the world - half the giant computer companies have Cambridge offices; I guess that it's wisest initially to work for a contracting company rather than trying to hang out my shingle on my own from the start.

Am I making sense?

(But first I am travelling around the world, so I won't be looking for interviews before mid-October)
fivemack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2018-08-05, 21:16   #2
pinhodecarlos

"Carlos Pinho"
Oct 2011
Milton Keynes, UK

3×1,663 Posts

Not sure if this will help you but the following website has a list of recruitment companies which sometimes have some interesting documentation about careers. Please take a look.

https://www.safer-jobs.com/articles.cfm?id=7
pinhodecarlos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2018-08-05, 22:52   #3
a1call

"Rashid Naimi"
Oct 2015
Remote to Here/There

3·52·29 Posts

FYI In my neck of the woods, having a PhD is licence for printing money. The way it works is that government grants to research companies are only awarded if they have a PhD on the payroll and on the research project. It is very much bureaucratic nonsense. But that's just the way the system works. You might consider eliminating the middleman and apply for the grants yourself.

Last fiddled with by a1call on 2018-08-05 at 22:55