mersenneforum.org  

Go Back   mersenneforum.org > Great Internet Mersenne Prime Search > Software

Old 2019-06-19, 23:22   #1
neomacdev

Apr 2019

1616 Posts
Default Interest in partnering on an appleTV / iOS / macOS factoring / prime project?

Hi,

I've had a growing interest in all things factoring & primality testing for the last six+ months, in which time I've been reading a multitude of articles and some books on the topic. Along the way it occurred to me that most appleTV devices sit unused ~22+ hours a day, and that is a LOT of idle computing power. It'd be nice have an appleTV app for Mersenne trial factoring, or other prime search computation tasks, to tap all that unused computation power.

My background is as a Mac Software Engineer (mostly automation & app-level UI type coding, not deep scientific computing / or low-level GPU stuff) and used to work at Apple on their AVFoundation video capture/editing/export framework for macOS/iOS/appleTV. My primary development language for the last 15+ years has been Objective-C, and I pretty much never touch Windows/Linux boxes, and rarely venture outside the niceties and convenience of Xcode, Objective-C, Apple application frameworks.

I've noticed of the various prime related software projects out there (gpuOwl, mfakto, mfactc, clLucas, llrCUDA, CUDALucas, Prime95, etc) most are Linux/Windows targeted, but may run on Macs as an afterthought. Where inline assembly is used it always seems to only be available as x86/x64, and not ARM, leaving iOS/appleTV unavailable as targets. And all the GPU accelerated stuff is CUDA or OpenCL. While Apple was the original developer of OpenCL, they have since abandoned it on the Mac, with their proprietary Metal framework replacing it and providing seamless GPU access across the Mac, iOS, and appleTV devices. (Yes, you can still compile & run OpenCL for now.)