mersenneforum.org  

Go Back   mersenneforum.org > Great Internet Mersenne Prime Search > Hardware > GPU Computing

Old 2014-08-31, 23:03   #1
stars10250

Jul 2008
San Francisco, CA

3·67 Posts
Default GPU Mentor

I'm new to GPU computing and am looking for a mentor for LL testing. I've read the forum for several months, just ordered a video card, and I already have questions. Rather than post to the forum I'd prefer private messages so I don't make a fool of myself. I'm an engineer and fairly computer savvy but I've never done this before. Please send a private message if you are up for some email support to a fellow number cruncher.
stars10250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014-09-01, 03:17   #2
TheMawn

May 2013
East. Always East.

11×157 Posts

I can guarantee there are some people who may have some of the same questions you do. At the very least, some people won't know the answers.

Having that information available publicly could be valuable. I don't want to tell you what to do, but I would suggest trying to have the discussion publicly, as you will also be able to attract the help of more than one person through PM. Faster responses, different viewpoints, etc.

Last fiddled with by TheMawn on 2014-09-01 at 03:17
TheMawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014-09-01, 03:39   #3
pdazzl

Apr 2014

7·17 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by stars10250 View Post
I'm new to GPU computing and am looking for a mentor for LL testing. I've read the forum for several months, just ordered a video card, and I already have questions. Rather than post to the forum I'd prefer private messages so I don't make a fool of myself. I'm an engineer and fairly computer savvy but I've never done this before. Please send a private message if you are up for some email support to a fellow number cruncher.
You'll likely want cudalucas if you want to do LL tests. What model gpu?