mersenneforum.org  

Go Back   mersenneforum.org > Great Internet Mersenne Prime Search > Hardware

Old 2007-02-10, 20:03   #1
jasong

"Jason Goatcher"
Mar 2005

3·7·167 Posts
Default If I bought a PS3 for crunching, would you guys help me compile?

I'm seriously considering making a PS3 my next crunching purchase.

The problem is that I have little experience with compiling programs, which would be necessary to run DC. I was wondering if anyone here would be willing to deal with the hassle of helping me compile any of the math-related stuff on these forums. I'm thinking the main programs I would run would be Prime95 factoring(PS3 version), sr2sieve for Riesel Sieve, and ecm(I'm hoping wblipp will help me, since most curves I do will be for OPN search).

So, should I bother? I'm not much of a gamer, so if I can't use it for DC, it's not going to be used.
jasong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-02-11, 14:13   #2
Mini-Geek
Account Deleted

"Tim Sorbera"
Aug 2006
San Antonio, TX USA

7·13·47 Posts

Maybe you should look at the new quad-core AMD CPUs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Article linked to in my link
AMD claims that Barcelona’s per-core floating point performance is more than 80 percent faster than the present Opteron.
That would make for some very fast number crunching, unless I'm mistaken in some way.

That would let you easily run the programs, I don't think the PS3 gives a substantially higher bang-for-the-buck, making it be worth the hassle of having no pre-compiled DC software.
The PS3 only has 15 GFLOPS (double precision) on its CPU, while other modern processors, such as Core 2 Duo Woodcrest get 24 GFLOPS theoretical Rpeak. This should mean that Barcelona will be much faster than a PS3 for number crunching. Also, the PS3 only has 256 MB of RAM, so it wouldn't run P-1 Stage 2 very well.

(ref for PS3's GFLOPS and RAM amount: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PS3#Cen...rocessing_unit)