Go Back   mersenneforum.org > Extra Stuff > Programming

Old 2013-11-24, 11:25   #1
abumichal

"Beny Yacovi"
Nov 2013
Tel Aviv

22×3 Posts
Default Novice Q how long it take.....

just for me curiosity , who long it take to do a simple arithmetic with huge number? Let assume a million digits number or even ten millions digits ? How long it take to add subtract multiply or divide it with another huge number, As I can remember it can be done in one run (assuming the numbers are already in hex format ) ?
Sorry if it sounds a silly Q . It is a long time since I was involve in such things. I was a grad student in math early 80th' and late 90th' was the last time I was doing any type of programming at all.

Thank you much
Beny
abumichal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-11-24, 11:58   #2
fivemack
(loop (#_fork))

Feb 2006
Cambridge, England

2×29×109 Posts

It takes surprisingly little time. And it's one of the areas where code reuse has actually worked; most programs that need to work with big numbers link in libgmp, and libgmp uses pretty close to state-of-the-art algorithms and is under pretty active development.

So for arithmetic on big numbers you're not going to get very much faster than running the expressions in python - it calls to libgmp to work with big numbers. About thirteen seconds to do x=3**(2**24), eight seconds to do y=5**(2**23), less than a second to add x and y.
fivemack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-11-24, 15:10   #3
abumichal

"Beny Yacovi"
Nov 2013
Tel Aviv

22·3 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by fivemack View Post
It takes surprisingly little time. And it's one of the areas where code reuse has actually worked; most programs that need to work with big numbers link in libgmp, and libgmp uses pretty close to state-of-the-art algorithms and is under pretty active development.