mersenneforum.org  

Go Back   mersenneforum.org > Great Internet Mersenne Prime Search > Hardware

Old 2005-10-11, 10:39   #1
Cosmo

Oct 2005
Milton Keynes UK

110002 Posts
Default NEW USER - HARDWARE FAILURE - PLEASE HELP

I am new to computers and have tried to read all FAQ's - but they make no sense to me - many apologies. After running test I get the following message:

FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.4882698059, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.
Execution Halted.

I see this message has already been addressed, but as I said, I don't understand how to proceed.

I recently purchased a new motherboard (Winfast K7S) and a new graphics card (XpertVisin 6600) as my PC was "hanging/Freezing" - I was advised to do this by a friend. Since the install my PC no longer freezes but re-boots itself - especially when running microsoft flight sim 2002, but also on various other programs. It seems to be fine when just surfin the net etc.

I have an AMD athlon 2800 processor - 512 Ram - windows XP home (but I have to run on SP1 because as soon as I try to install SP2 it seems to mess with my graphics drivers??). I have updated all the latest BIOS & drivers for motherboard & graphics card - but my PC still re-boots. When it re-starts I get an error saying there is a device problem. No faults appear in my device manager and all works fine until I try to play games.

I have tried to cover as much info as possible - please advise on how I can sort this out - and please use laymans terms and step by step guides as I really don't know computer "speak".

thanks in advance

Cosmo
Cosmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-10-11, 13:29   #2
JHagerson

May 2005
Naperville, IL, USA

3048 Posts

Cosmo, it appears that your computer works fine until running a game or a computationally intense program like Prime95 puts it under a bunch of stress.