mersenneforum.org  

Go Back   mersenneforum.org > Great Internet Mersenne Prime Search > Hardware

Old 2017-12-31, 12:23   #1
Taiy

Dec 2017

1 Posts
Default New PC dedicated to Mersenne Prime Search

Hi Everybody,

First of all: I am totally noob and English is not my mother tongue :)

I started this whole mersenne prime search in 2009, when I studied matemathics on a higher level in secondary school but after a few weeks my PC broke down because of other reasons, and I finished searching for primes until today.

I decided that I would like to build a PC just to search for mersenne primes.

Can you recommend me some hardwares? Motherboard? CPU? RAM? What should you buy?

Thank you for instance
Gergő
Taiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2017-12-31, 14:09   #2
VictordeHolland

"Victor de Hollander"
Aug 2011
the Netherlands

23×3×72 Posts

- Buy a good power supply from a decent brand with good rating (80+ gold for instance)
- If you're only going to use the PC for LL-testing, than you don't need an expensive motherboard or CPU. Something like a quad-core i5 with DDR4-2400 memory will give you great bang-for-buck.

Some more advice in this thread:
http://mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=20795

Make sure to calculate your electricity costs (per year for instance), so you don't get unpleasant surprises when you get the energy bill.
VictordeHolland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2017-12-31, 14:50   #3
GP2

Sep 2003

2,579 Posts

A lot of graphics cards were bought for cryptocurrency mining, but I think that will soon reach the point where it's no longer practical. Either because dedicated hardware like ASICs is the only practical option, or because of a switch to different verification methods.

So maybe a bunch of used GPUs will go on sale in 2018 at attractive prices... ?
GP2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2017-12-31, 16:26   #4
Gordon

Nov 2008

22·53 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by GP2 View Post