mersenneforum.org  

Go Back   mersenneforum.org > Great Internet Mersenne Prime Search > Hardware

Old 2016-01-21, 07:43   #1
Ammonia

Jan 2016

1 Posts
Default Low clock speeds on Mersenne Prime search

I'm new to this, just downloaded the software a few hours ago and thought I'd try looking for some primes! I have a 12-core Intel Xeon E5-2690v3 with a rated clock speed of 2.6 GHz. I set up 10 workers on 10 CPUs (multithread), allocated 16 GB.

The problem is, when the software is running all the cores are running at a rather low clock speed of 1.8 GHz max. When I use the same software but run the benchmark instead, I get 2.8-2.9 GHz on all cores (stable, over days).

Power saving options for the CPU is turned off, there are no thermal throttling.

Anyone able to help me with the settings to fix this? Or is this normal?
Ammonia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2016-01-21, 09:22   #2
0PolarBearsHere

Oct 2015

26610 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ammonia View Post
I'm new to this, just downloaded the software a few hours ago and thought I'd try looking for some primes! I have a 12-core Intel Xeon E5-2690v3 with a rated clock speed of 2.6 GHz. I set up 10 workers on 10 CPUs (multithread), allocated 16 GB.

The problem is, when the software is running all the cores are running at a rather low clock speed of 1.8 GHz max. When I use the same software but run the benchmark instead, I get 2.8-2.9 GHz on all cores (stable, over days).

Power saving options for the CPU is turned off, there are no thermal throttling.

Prime95 sees each "threadable core" as a logical CPU. With your 12 cores and hyper threading, Prime95 should see 24 "cpus" (check in the test->worker windows option, and look at the CPU affinity drop down to confirm). If you want 10 workers to run two threads (i.e. 10 multithreaded workers), you'll need to go through your workers and set each to use 2 CPUs.

Let us know if that doesn't work, or if you don't see the 24 "CPUs" in the affinity dropdown.