View Single Post
Old 2017-04-27, 21:37   #1
VictordeHolland's Avatar
"Victor de Hollander"
Aug 2011
the Netherlands

2×587 Posts
Default Intel Xeon naming scheme change

Leaked info:
The new Intel Skylake Xeons will come with a change in naming scheme.

We used to have:
Xeon E5-1600 v(1-4) series for single socket
Xeon E5-2600 v(1-4) series for dual socket
Xeon E5-4600 v(1-4) series for 4 sockets
Xeon E7-4800 v? series for businesses with deep pockets
Xeon E7-8800 v? series for world domination

With the first digit indicating the amount of sockets it supported and the last two digits indicating the performance in that serie and the number after the v the version/iteration.
For instance the Intel Xeon E5-2620 (v1) was a SandyBridge based entry level model with 6 cores, while a new high-end E5-2699 v4 based on Broadwell has 22 cores.

The new Xeons will have a naming scheme with Bronze-Silver-Gold-Platinum indicating their performance/cores/multi socket abilities??

Name - Series - Cores
Xeon Platinum 8000 series: 22–28
Xeon Gold 5000/6000 series: 14–22
Xeon Silver 4000 series: 10–12
Xeon Bronze 3000 series: <10

I actually quite liked the old system as you could see in a few seconds what platform you're dealing with and more or less what performance to expect. It did have it shortcomings as I always have to lookup the model on the Intel Ark page to know how many cores/cache/frequency they have. So the same model number, but a different iteration can have different performance. For instance a E5-2650 v1 has 8 cores, but the E5-2650 v4 has 12 cores.
VictordeHolland is offline   Reply With Quote