mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   Software (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Prime95 30.7 (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=27180)

M344587487 2021-10-18 15:37

[QUOTE=Zhangrc;590957]Even if PrimeNet is enabled, the number of threads should be allowed to set to whatever number people want. Modern CPU cores are really fast, and the big cores in Alder Lake are even faster. (Never seen any consumer CPUs running at > 5GHZ before)...[/QUOTE]
The 8086k (a binned 8700k) was the first single core turbo to hit 5.0GHz out of the box, since then each gen the top 14nm parts have improved the speed and number of cores that can do >=5GHz. If Alder Lake can really hit >=5GHz that's impressive because up until now I don't think a non-14nm part has come close. intel may finally be back in shape with the golden cove design, I wonder how much fab capacity is ready for the newer process.

techn1ciaN 2021-10-21 22:16

[QUOTE=ZacHFX;590503]I'm happy to report that after an update today, whatever problems Win11 was having with Prime95 on my Ryzen seem to have been fixed. I'm back to my old iterations/s.[/QUOTE]


Had the same experience. Upgraded my Ryzen 4600H laptop to Windows 11 today and tanked my PRP-CF s/iter from 0.60 to 1.15 (without any decrease in power consumption :huh:). Installed a "2021-10 Cumulative Update for Windows 11" (Microsoft KB5006746) from Windows Update and I'm posting 0.60 s/iter again.


I wonder why, if you're upgrading from 10 to 11, Microsoft doesn't push the newest version to start with...

sparticus42 2021-10-22 06:27

[QUOTE=kriesel;590133]WorkPreference=155 in prime.txt. Stop, exit, and restart to make it take effect. Check Test, Worker Windows, after the restart, it's called "other". Not something we can set from the prime95 GUI, IIUC.
I have a prime95 session on this laptop, and mprime on 2 Colab notebooks, set to use that now, as a parallel test. It will take days or weeks to know whether it's working.[/QUOTE]


I've had this preference set on v30.6b4 for some time now. At first it would not recognize the work type and I would have to manually add them to worktodo.txt. However I've just noticed the last time it fetched assignments that it now recognizes the assigment type and writes them to worktodo.txt on its own.

kriesel 2021-10-22 13:33

[QUOTE=sparticus42;591320]I've had this preference set on v30.6b4 for some time now. At first it would not recognize the work type and I would have to manually add them to worktodo.txt. However I've just noticed the last time it fetched assignments that it now recognizes the assignment type and writes them to worktodo.txt on its own.[/QUOTE]
See [URL]https://mersenneforum.org/showpost.php?p=590196&postcount=57[/URL]
And it looks like [URL="https://mersenneforum.org/showpost.php?p=590133&postcount=49"]mine[/URL] worked recently too.

James Heinrich 2021-10-22 13:56

[quote=readme.txt]Upload bandwidth limit
----------------------
For most home users, download speed is faster than upload speed. If upload speed is not limited,
it can seriously impact download speeds. I recommend not using more than 10% of your upload bandwidth.
[b]The default setting is 0.25Mbps[/b]. This uploads a 100MB proof file in about an hour. If the upload
is interrupted, it will automatically resume from where it left off at a later time.[/quote]I'm not sure where this setting is adjusted? I don't notice any relevant settings in local.txt or even undoc.txt, although the latter does mention [c]DownloadRateLimit[/c]. Are uploads really limited to 0.25Mbps?

Viliam Furik 2021-10-22 14:05

[QUOTE=James Heinrich;591360]I'm not sure where this setting is adjusted? I don't notice any relevant settings in local.txt or even undoc.txt, although the latter does mention [c]DownloadRateLimit[/c]. Are uploads really limited to 0.25Mbps?[/QUOTE]

You should be able to adjust it in the Prime95, I think it's named Resource limits. It should be the same place where the disk space settings are.

James Heinrich 2021-10-22 15:37

[QUOTE=Viliam Furik;591361]You should be able to adjust it in the Prime95, I think it's named Resource limits. It should be the same place where the disk space settings are.[/QUOTE]Well that's embarassing. :redface:
I looked at that dialog multiple times and somehow failed to see what was there.
The appropriate settings are also available in mprime.
And it gets written to [c]prime.txt[/c] under[code][PrimeNet]
UploadRateLimit=<value>[/code]where [c]<value>[/c] is the upload limit in Mbps.

Glenn 2021-10-23 02:22

Latest Prime95 Updating?
 
[QUOTE=Prime95;590599]Windows or Linux? Did the dialog box allow you to select the "Use hyperthreading" checkbox?

[B]Nevermind. Fix coming in build 6.[/B][/QUOTE]

Has Build 6 been uploaded yet? My latest PRP test should end tomorrow and I want to change versions before starting my next one.

kriesel 2021-10-23 12:32

[QUOTE=Glenn;591426]Has Build 6 been uploaded yet?[/QUOTE][URL="https://mersenneforum.org/showpost.php?p=589234&postcount=1"]Not yet.[/URL]

Glenn 2021-10-23 21:59

Okay then I’ll use build 5

Minty 2021-10-27 07:09

v30.7 b2 (same as post 23)
8600K Coffee Lake CPU, 1 worker, 6 threads. FMA3 FFT (6M), 114.5M exponent: stage 1 = 68.1 sec, stage 2 = 105.2 sec


All times are UTC. The time now is 09:36.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.