mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   Information & Answers (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   How do I get a bigger number to test ? (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=24067)

mersenne1588 2019-02-11 17:59

How do I get a bigger number to test ?
 
Hi there,

I`m new here. When I started the test "PrimeNet" I got the number M51878231. But I want to test a bigger number than M82589933.

How I can do that?

Uncwilly 2019-02-11 18:22

Welcome! Glad you could join the effort.

When you first join you get a lower number to double check (we want to be certain that we didn't miss a new prime because of an error), this is normal, even if you asked for a world record number to test. This double check will also show if your machine is ok or if it is producing errors. If your machine doesn't match the results of other machines, then it is not wise to put it to work searching for a new WR. So, the server will see if the results you turn in match with others. If they do, then you will get assigned bigger numbers. It should only take a week or so for your machine to turn in a double check. You will likely get 2 to start. (You have to turn in a good result before you start a first time check and you will get assigned a second assignment before the first is done, so you have available work if you don't have internet contact the moment the first one is done.) This is all normal and you should start getting the bigger numbers soon. Also, about once a year (or more often) you will get another double check, to make sure your machine is healthy. At some point as your machine gets older, it will get moved to double checks all of the time, or a different type of work.

Just sit tight for a little while and you get the numbers you want.

mersenne1588 2019-02-11 18:57

Thank you for the fast answer. Now I know how it works. At the moment I have problems with the internet connection. If the problem is resolved I start with the double check.

VBCurtis 2019-02-11 19:37

You don't need an internet connection to run the test; only to report the result. You should run the test while you're solving your connection problems.

mersenne1588 2019-02-12 16:20

Ok, I thought I need an internet connection because the intermediate data will be send regularly during the test to the PrimeNet server. But, If you only need an internet connection to tell the result at the end of the test, so much the better.

And I suppose, this approach is not only valid for the double check of a smaller number but later also for the verification of bigger numbers, right? And in my case, the numbers are probably checked using the Lucas-Lehmer primality test, correct?

Uncwilly 2019-02-12 21:45

[QUOTE=mersenne1588;508341]And I suppose, this approach is not only valid for the double check of a smaller number but later also for the verification of bigger numbers, right? And in my case, the numbers are probably checked using the Lucas-Lehmer primality test, correct?[/QUOTE]
Double checks and first time LL tests are the same. The test is the same. There is a different shift-count (but that is something that is invisible to the user.) Still the only time you need to pass data to and from the PrimeNet server is to get an assignment and to return a result. Many users have and some still do transfer this data to and from machines that are not connected directly to internet via a 'sneakernet'.

Traditionally numbers have been tested using the LL test, because it can give an absolute answer if a number is prime. Recently the PRP test has started to be used to show that numbers are not prime. Numbers that have had a PRP first time test should have a PRP double check. The server handles that.

mersenne1588 2019-02-12 22:13

All right, thank you for the answer.


All times are UTC. The time now is 21:24.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.