mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   NFSNET Discussion (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   AMD 64 bits (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=4237)

junky 2005-06-22 16:33

AMD 64 bits
 
hi guys, im planning to buy a new machine to dedicate to NFSnet.
I've a good deal for an AMD XP 3500+, whatcha think about it exactly?
Anyone has a machine like that? Is it running fast? Any benchmarks?

I currently has a XP2400+ (which is 32 bits), and i think it's time to do a little upgrade. :banana:

My OS gonna be probably Windows XP.

Thanks.

trilliwig 2005-06-22 18:05

[QUOTE=junky]I've a good deal for an AMD XP 3500+, whatcha think about it exactly?[/QUOTE]

Uh, does such a thing exist? I'll just assume you meant an Athlon64 3500+.

I don't have benchmarks, but I hear they're good all-around chips. I dunno if NFSNET has x86-64 specific binaries, but you'll need to run the 64-bit version of WinXP to use 64-bit code anyway.

xilman 2005-06-23 09:23

[QUOTE=junky]hi guys, im planning to buy a new machine to dedicate to NFSnet.
I've a good deal for an AMD XP 3500+, whatcha think about it exactly?
Anyone has a machine like that? Is it running fast? Any benchmarks?

I currently has a XP2400+ (which is 32 bits), and i think it's time to do a little upgrade. :banana:

My OS gonna be probably Windows XP.

Thanks.[/QUOTE]
I do not know anyone running nfsnet on an AMD64 box. I would expect it to be better than the Athlon but perhaps not spectacularly so.

Unfortunately, we do not have x86-64 development machines at the moment, so our clients are restricted to 32-bit binaries. I hope that situation will change relatively soon but, of course, can make no firm guarantees.

My next machine is also likely to be an AMD64 3500+ as that seems to hit the price/performance sweet spot. First, I have to fix my main machine, which scrambled its disk over a week ago. That's why I've been extremely quiet and unavailable by email. :sad:



Paul

frmky 2005-06-23 16:46

Actually I have run it on both AthlonXP and Athlon64 boxes using Windows XP (32-bit). At the same clock speed, the Athlon64 is a bit less than twice the speed of the AthlonXP.

Greg

junky 2005-06-25 14:43

yeah, i mean AMD 64bits 3500+, my bad (i should take more coffee when i wake up :)
frmky: great, what kind of athlon xp is it, exactly? which 64 bits speed is it?
which machine_id was that 64 bits machine? i'd like to compare with a P4-2.8GhZ, 800FSB.

Thanks.

frmky 2005-06-25 19:32

My machines are under jgchilders in the stats. ESCATTER1 is an AthlonXP 3000+, ESCATTER2 is an AthlonXP 3100+, and ESCATTER3 is an Athlon64 3100+. All are running 32-bit WindowsXP. They all worked for a while on the current project (2_751P), so you can check their stats. While they were running, ESCATTER1 and ESCATTER2 were each doing a little over 5 work units each day, and ESCATTER3 was completing about 9.6 work units each day. Comparing to your stats, the Athlon64 3100+ runs about 70% faster than your "v1". What are the specs of that machine?

Greg

R.D. Silverman 2005-06-27 18:55

[QUOTE=frmky]My machines are under jgchilders in the stats. ESCATTER1 is an AthlonXP 3000+, ESCATTER2 is an AthlonXP 3100+, and ESCATTER3 is an Athlon64 3100+. All are running 32-bit WindowsXP. They all worked for a while on the current project (2_751P), so you can check their stats. While they were running, ESCATTER1 and ESCATTER2 were each doing a little over 5 work units each day, and ESCATTER3 was completing about 9.6 work units each day. Comparing to your stats, the Athlon64 3100+ runs about 70% faster than your "v1". What are the specs of that machine?

Greg[/QUOTE]

Query: Does the Athlon 3100+ outperform a hyper-threaded P4 at (say)
3.2 Ghz with 2 threads running?

frmky 2005-06-27 19:13

[QUOTE=R.D. Silverman]Query: Does the Athlon 3100+ outperform a hyper-threaded P4 at (say)
3.2 Ghz with 2 threads running?[/QUOTE]

Hopefully Junky (or anyone else) can answer that. I don't have a hyperthreaded P4 to test.
Greg

junky 2005-07-05 02:28

sorry, i was moving last week.
my v1 machine is a P4-2.8GhZ, 800 FSB with 1G of RAM (IIRC).
ive just over 5 WUs, while greg can reached just over 10, which seems really great to me, cause i'm planning to get a AMD64 3500+.
And i had only 1 thread running, i could try start 2 threads to see if it makes any revelent consequence.


All times are UTC. The time now is 04:45.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.