mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   Software (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Prime95 and cpu affinity (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=24325)

pepi37 2019-04-22 08:23

Prime95 and cpu affinity
 
I have two computer , with Win 7 and Win10 , both have same CPU i5-4670K
Also have two GPU , Nvidia 1050Ti and Rx580 .
My question ( I cannot solve this problem)
If I put that GPU execute and running GFN sieveless program, it use 25-30% of CPU ( so little more above one cpu core- those CPU doesnot have HT)
So when I start Prime95 and tell them to one worker use three remain cores it only use one core.
In same time, and with same scenario LLR use 3 core without any problem.
Does someone have solution for this?
I try to change affinity of cores, but that doesnot help.

Prime95 2019-04-24 18:24

Prime95 should not do that -- I believe it should tell the OS to run the 3 threads on any core. When starting prime95 does it tell you which logical CPUs it is assigning threads to?

You can try setting "Affinity=1,2,3" in the [Worker #1] section of local.txt. That might help.

If still having trouble, run a benchmark (abort it anytime) and send me the hwloc topology written to either results.txt or results.bench.txt. Also send prime.txt and local.txt.

Good luck

pepi37 2019-04-24 19:28

here it is



[URL]https://www.dropbox.com/s/ha9lhi4f90qmhm5/prime95.zip?dl=0[/URL]


Your suggestion didnot solve problem

Prime95 2019-04-25 04:11

I tried to replicate the problem on my quad core Win10 machine but I was not successful.

This won't help but will provide me some extra assurance that prime95 is calling hwloc's set_affinity routine properly. In prime.txt set AffinityVerbosity=2 and restart. As before, post the picture of prime95 starting up.

One other user reported a nearly identical problem several months ago (or is this your second bug report?). At this point, I'm stumped.

pepi37 2019-04-25 05:51

[QUOTE=Prime95;514620]I tried to replicate the problem on my quad core Win10 machine but I was not successful.

This won't help but will provide me some extra assurance that prime95 is calling hwloc's set_affinity routine properly. In prime.txt set AffinityVerbosity=2 and restart. As before, post the picture of prime95 starting up.

One other user reported a nearly identical problem several months ago (or is this your second bug report?). At this point, I'm stumped.[/QUOTE]


[QUOTE][Apr 25 07:49:48] Worker starting
[Apr 25 07:49:48] Setting affinity to run worker on logical CPUs 1 (zero-based)
[Apr 25 07:49:48] Affinity set to cpuset 0x00000002
[Apr 25 07:49:48] Setting affinity to run helper thread 1 on logical CPUs 2 (zero-based)
[Apr 25 07:49:48] Affinity set to cpuset 0x00000004
[Apr 25 07:49:48] Setting affinity to run helper thread 2 on logical CPUs 3 (zero-based)
[Apr 25 07:49:48] Affinity set to cpuset 0x00000008
[Apr 25 07:50:03] Resuming PRP test of 95*10^1593538-1 using FMA3 FFT length 384K, Pass1=384, Pass2=1K, clm=4, 3 threads
[Apr 25 07:50:03] Iteration: 2326703 / 5293625 [43.95%].[/QUOTE]


As you say it doesnot help but seems Prime95 cal hwloc's set_affinity routine properly


All times are UTC. The time now is 05:23.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.