mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   Information & Answers (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   adding a computer running mprime (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=11382)

Unregistered 2009-01-22 04:55

adding a computer running mprime
 
Hi all. I just got a third home desktop, it's running ubuntu linux and mprime and i was wondering how i could add the computer to my user/team? i looked through the files in the mprime folder and it wasn't very obvious on how to link it to my user. help would be appreciated

Mr. P-1 2009-01-22 16:25

When you run the program for the first time, it will ask for your username.

Unregistered 2009-01-22 19:52

really? b/c i got it running and it didn't. mprime doesn't have a gui

Prime95 2009-01-23 01:31

[QUOTE=Unregistered;159884]really? b/c i got it running and it didn't. mprime doesn't have a gui[/QUOTE]

Try "./mprime -m"

Unregistered 2009-01-26 23:59

as a directory or a terminal command? i dont understand what that means

Mr. P-1 2009-01-28 15:42

As a terminal command. Once you have it properly set up, you can run it as a daemon.

Unregistered 2009-01-31 23:12

it didn't work!

Unregistered 2009-02-05 03:19

i couldn't get that to work. anything else i can do?

markr 2009-02-05 10:24

Just what did it do - an error message, nothing? I assume you (in terminal) changed to the directory where mprime is, then entered:
./mprime -m
then what happened?

Carlos56 2009-02-05 13:55

about permissions
 
Hi. Open a terminal, switchh to the folder where youuuu downloaded mprime, and in that place type <chmod a+x mprime>. That will make mprime executable and then yes type <./mprime -m>. Assumed you know about <top>, <kill> and basic Linux commands.

Unregistered 2009-02-07 06:14

how do i 'switch to the folder' because i have it downloaded to the desktop?


All times are UTC. The time now is 20:39.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.