mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   Prime Gap Searches (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=131)
-   -   Prime gap records (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=25313)

MJansen 2020-02-29 09:56

Prime gap records
 
2 Attachment(s)
Since Thomas R. Nicely passed away, there has been an attempt to keep track of the records. Graham and Rob have been working to get things going but so far no joy.

I will volunteer to keep track of the record prime gaps and post monthly (if possible) a text file with the record gaps as Thomas did (Gap, Merit,Discoverer). I will also try and post an allgap text file with a little more extensive data regarding the gap.

What if you have some improved prime gaps?
Send me a PM with a text file with the following data (comma separated):
26694,C??,25.376337,M.Jansen,29-2-2020,457,1015231*1087#/4830 - 19308

So I ask you to send respectively:
Prime gap (integer value),
Rating (C?? is standard for all gaps I receive, so use this to be safe. Thomas also used CFC/CNC/C?C/C?P. The first C stands for conventional, the second character: F=First Occurence, N = not a first occurence, ? = Unknown and the final character has C for Certified, P for Probable or ? for unknown. I cannot (at this moment) certify endpoints, nor can I check gaps over 3500 characters, so untill then all gaps will receive either C?? or C?P (if I can duplicate the gap) as rating),
Merit (in 6 digits, decimal sign is a dot [.]),
Discoverer (8 characters as you want to attribute yourself or a cooperative effort),
Date (the date you found the gap, if unknown, leave this empty, I will then use the day I received the gap),
Digits (the number of digits of the gapstart, which can be calculated as ([Gap]/[Merit])/ln(10) and then round up to the next integer value),
GapStart (a text field with the startvalue of the gap, in this case of the form: Multiplier*Primorial#/Divider - integer (note the spaces around the minus!)

Attached you will find the allgaps and recordgap files as per 29 februari 2020. Only Rob Smith's improvements from 2019 and my own (untill today) were added after the last file posted by Thomas on August 12th 2019. The all gap file has truncated Gapstart values, if needed I can provide the full gapstart values.

Hope this is clear and may you find a gap with merit over 50!

Kind regards
Michiel Jansen

PS can somebody make this thread sticky?

SethTro 2020-03-01 03:45

Why isn't the GitHub solution going to work?

I'm also willing to look into setting up a frontend where you submit the record line and it verifies and submits the record to GitHub.

MJansen 2020-03-01 08:11

Hi SethTro,

untill there is a structural and workable solution, I am volunteering to keep track of the record prime gaps and submit monthly two text files like Thomas did. That offer still stands. The data I collect can be used to start a website or a frontend verification tool (would be very nice actually!) and if possible incorporated in the development of the GitHub project.

Kind regards
Michiel Jansen

Bobby Jacobs 2020-03-01 22:18

It is great that you are continuing to keep track of the record prime gaps. Dr. Nicely is happy in Heaven.

SethTro 2020-03-05 07:17

New Frontend
 
I made a new website to verify records and automatically upload them to github.

[url]http://primegaps.cloudygo.com/[/url]
[URL="https://imgur.com/a/2Ys7XJv"]screenshots[/URL]


I deleted [URL="https://github.com/sethtroisi/prime-gap-list/commit/71e0eb6d90554c9ed90c01d0fea3c89ce8023619"]all gaps 10,000 to 11,000[/URL] so they can be used to test the service.

The first page performs some validity checks (merit > existing, prime < 10,000 digits)

After you upload you'll see [URL="https://imgur.com/DpvPbv2"]"1 Queued ... <data>"[/URL]

If you click the [URL="https://imgur.com/iZI1Ato"]Watch Queue[/URL] you can see it testing (if it's a larger record) and the results of previous tests

After the record is verified it's [URL="https://github.com/sethtroisi/prime-gap-list/commit/20bb0b3f8db2f16703ab874513d7595f6d60ebf9"]immediately uploaded to the prime-gap-list github[/URL] (or in this case my fork of it)

It's fairly fragile right now (e.g. if worker: dead on the [URL="http://localhost:5090/status"]status page[/URL] it's broken till I kick the machine again), but I'll fix issues as they arise.

Chime in with what would be useful.

MJansen 2020-03-05 15:10

Cool! Really appreciated, I tested gap 11002 and it seemd to check out fine.

Some questions:
a. what are the gap ends tested for, a PRP test of a certified prime test?
b. Would it be possibble to add a batch (file) at once?

c. And after entering the gap, how can you view the Github page, the pointers Graham gave were not simple enough for me. I never managed to see anything at GitHub (I am noob level regarding GitHub). Graham and Rob were working on simplified instructions, but I have never seen those.

Kind regards
Michiel Jansen

[QUOTE=SethTro;538934]I made a new website to verify records and automatically upload them to github.

[url]http://primegaps.cloudygo.com/[/url]
[URL="https://imgur.com/a/2Ys7XJv"]screenshots[/URL]


I deleted [URL="https://github.com/sethtroisi/prime-gap-list/commit/71e0eb6d90554c9ed90c01d0fea3c89ce8023619"]all gaps 10,000 to 11,000[/URL] so they can be used to test the service.

The first page performs some validity checks (merit > existing, prime < 10,000 digits)

After you upload you'll see [URL="https://imgur.com/DpvPbv2"]"1 Queued ... <data>"[/URL]

If you click the [URL="https://imgur.com/iZI1Ato"]Watch Queue[/URL] you can see it testing (if it's a larger record) and the results of previous tests

After the record is verified it's [URL="https://github.com/sethtroisi/prime-gap-list/commit/20bb0b3f8db2f16703ab874513d7595f6d60ebf9"]immediately uploaded to the prime-gap-list github[/URL] (or in this case my fork of it)

It's fairly fragile right now (e.g. if worker: dead on the [URL="http://localhost:5090/status"]status page[/URL] it's broken till I kick the machine again), but I'll fix issues as they arise.

Chime in with what would be useful.[/QUOTE]

SethTro 2020-03-09 03:20

[QUOTE=MJansen;538947]Cool! Really appreciated, I tested gap 11002 and it seemd to check out fine.

Some questions:
a. what are the gap ends tested for, a PRP test of a certified prime test?
b. Would it be possibble to add a batch (file) at once?

c. And after entering the gap, how can you view the Github page, the pointers Graham gave were not simple enough for me. I never managed to see anything at GitHub (I am noob level regarding GitHub). Graham and Rob were working on simplified instructions, but I have never seen those.

Kind regards
Michiel Jansen[/QUOTE]

a. I only do PRP test for the endpoints (gmpy2.is_prime)
b. Yes I've add a textbox you can submit multiple records at a time, just add multiple lines of the form <GAP> <merit> <start>
c. While this is being tested the records only end up on my github: [url]https://github.com/sethtroisi/prime-gap-list/commits/master[/url]

MJansen 2020-03-09 07:31

Cool again! Appreciated!

For validating the gaps a PRP should do for now.

I notice you have a slightly different format:
Gap Merit6 Mult * Primorial/#Div -StartInt To +EndInt

Two questions:
1. Do you need the To +EndInt part, since Gap -StartInt = EndInt?
2. No comma separated batch? Your example has many spaces included, do you need those?

But, if this is easiest for you then I will change my output scripts and make sure the gaps I submit will follow that format. So no biggie

Kind regards
Michiel


[QUOTE=SethTro;539200]a. I only do PRP test for the endpoints (gmpy2.is_prime)
b. Yes I've add a textbox you can submit multiple records at a time, just add multiple lines of the form <GAP> <merit> <start>
c. While this is being tested the records only end up on my github: [url]https://github.com/sethtroisi/prime-gap-list/commits/master[/url][/QUOTE]

SethTro 2020-03-09 07:36

[QUOTE=MJansen;539203]Cool again! Appreciated!

For validating the gaps a PRP should do for now.

I notice you have a slightly different format:
Gap Merit6 Mult * Primorial/#Div -StartInt To +EndInt

Two questions:
1. Do you need the To +EndInt part, since Gap -StartInt = EndInt?
2. No comma separated batch? Your example has many spaces included, do you need those?

But, if this is easiest for you then I will change my output scripts and make sure the gaps I submit will follow that format. So no biggie

Kind regards
Michiel[/QUOTE]

1. No, the + endint is not required (only -startint), I added an example of the other (Pgsurround.pl) format in the text area.
2. No comma seperated batch at this time, if you give me an example of the format I'm happy to add it.

MJansen 2020-03-09 14:23

I added a batch of gaps (todays improvements):
58270 23.045642 1110749*2593#/210 - 3000
54954 21.599841 1097695*2617#/210 - 26798
120876 18.608307 11267*6581#/30030 - 53962
117832 18.090710 11257*6607#/30030 - 54328
100976 15.296037 11279*6701#/30030 - 36458
108822 16.484562 11291*6701#/30030 - 43482
120156 23.968652 11441*5099#/30030 - 71598

But your check program seems stuck in a loop:
7 Queued
58270, C?P, 23.046, M.Jansen, 2020-03-09, 1099, 1110749*2593#/210-3000
54954, C?P, 21.6, M.Jansen, 2020-03-09, 1105, 1097695*2617#/210-26798
120876, C?P, 18.608, M.Jansen, 2020-03-09, 2822, 11267*6581#/30030-53962
etc. ...

[B]Queue[/B]
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
...
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 58258, 1569):
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 58258, 1569):
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 58258, 1569):
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 58258, 1569):
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 58258, 1569):
Queue 7: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 57276, 1532):
Queue 7: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 55786, 1471):
Queue 7: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 54196, 1409):
Queue 7: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 52636, 1348):
Queue 7: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 50764, 1289):
Queue 7: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 48970, 1227):
Queue 7: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 47026, 1162):

Or maybe I should be patient?

Kind regards
Michiel Jansen

[QUOTE=SethTro;539204]1. No, the + endint is not required (only -startint), I added an example of the other (Pgsurround.pl) format in the text area.
2. No comma seperated batch at this time, if you give me an example of the format I'm happy to add it.[/QUOTE]

SethTro 2020-03-09 18:17

[QUOTE=MJansen;539213]I added a batch of gaps (todays improvements):
58270 23.045642 1110749*2593#/210 - 3000
54954 21.599841 1097695*2617#/210 - 26798
120876 18.608307 11267*6581#/30030 - 53962
117832 18.090710 11257*6607#/30030 - 54328
100976 15.296037 11279*6701#/30030 - 36458
108822 16.484562 11291*6701#/30030 - 43482
120156 23.968652 11441*5099#/30030 - 71598

But your check program seems stuck in a loop:
7 Queued
58270, C?P, 23.046, M.Jansen, 2020-03-09, 1099, 1110749*2593#/210-3000
54954, C?P, 21.6, M.Jansen, 2020-03-09, 1105, 1097695*2617#/210-26798
120876, C?P, 18.608, M.Jansen, 2020-03-09, 2822, 11267*6581#/30030-53962
etc. ...

[B]Queue[/B]
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
...
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=None:
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 58258, 1569):
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 58258, 1569):
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 58258, 1569):
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 58258, 1569):
Queue 6: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 58258, 1569):
Queue 7: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 57276, 1532):
Queue 7: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 55786, 1471):
Queue 7: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 54196, 1409):
Queue 7: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 52636, 1348):
Queue 7: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 50764, 1289):
Queue 7: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 48970, 1227):
Queue 7: Currently Testing gap=(58270, 47026, 1162):

Or maybe I should be patient?

Kind regards
Michiel Jansen[/QUOTE]

This was my fault, should be fixed now


All times are UTC. The time now is 13:48.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.