mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   Marin's Mersenne-aries (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=30)
-   -   How to report P-1 results (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=2489)

James Heinrich 2004-05-18 15:40

How to report P-1 results
 
:help: At the risk of looking like I don't know what I'm doing, can someone clarify for me exactly how I should be doing this P-1 stuff?
[list=1][*]Grab a list of ~50 exponents, put them in [i]worktodo.ini[/i] (I got this part, so far so good :smile:)
[*]When they're done, copy-paste the lines from [i]results.txt[/i] that look like
[font=monospace][b]UID: S130260/C13C71069, M12769543 completed P-1, B1=75000, B2=1368750, WZ1: 4A7CEA4F[/b][/font]
into here: [url]http://www.mersenne.org/ips/manualtests.html#checkins[/url]
I think... :unsure: Can someone confirm this for me?[/list]Should "Use PrimeNet to get work and report results" be disabled when I'm doing P-1 testing? I assume so since I got several messages overnight that looked like:[quote][Tue May 18 05:48:28 2004 - ver 23.8]
Sending text message to server:
UID: S130260/C13C71069, M12772909 completed P-1, B1=75000, B2=1368750, WZ1: 4A78E9AC
Sending result to server for exponent 12772909
ERROR 3: Exponent not assigned to this computer.[/quote]

MrHappy 2004-05-18 15:47

Yes, "Use PrimeNet..." should be disabled, as you didn't get the work from PrimeNet, but added it manually. The server has no clue what you are doing ;)

The manual report form is currently down. You may just keep the result files, do P-1 on other exponents and wait (only a few days, i hope) till the report form is fixed, or send your results via email to George.

MrHappy :smile:

James Heinrich 2004-05-18 15:52

[QUOTE=MrHappy]The server has no clue what you are doing[/QUOTE]Sometimes I think it's not the only one... :razz:

[QUOTE=MrHappy]The manual report form is currently down.[/QUOTE]Oh, is it? I just started P-1'ing yesterday, so I still have a few days of work left (plus an in-progress LL in case my CPU gets bored) and haven't tried to use the manual reporting yet. How will I know when the form is fixed?

dave_0273 2004-05-18 16:18

When your block of 50 is finished, just try to report it. If you get an error message it is obviously still down. However, I am sure that there will be some details about the server posted in the "server" section of the boards when it comes back on line again.

James Heinrich 2004-05-24 13:55

When I report results, either via the form (when it's fixed) or email to George, should I copy-paste the datestamp lines as well, or just the result line? If the date's important I'll keep it obviously, but if it just gets stripped I might as well strip it myself before sending.

garo 2004-05-24 14:17

You can strip it if you want but that's just extra work since George has a program that strips it automatically for all results he receives - via email and manual check-in.

But the date is not important so you can remove it without impacting the result.

dave_0273 2004-05-27 05:47

The manual report page is up and running again so anyone so you can either report results there or you can email the results off to george.


All times are UTC. The time now is 02:08.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.