mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   PrimeNet (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   DoubleCheck vs LL assignments (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=5638)

Unregistered 2006-03-21 03:43

DoubleCheck vs LL assignments
 
Hello

I have been running v24.14 as separate NT services on a 4-way 3.0 GHz Xeon for some time. However I notice I am *always* getting DoubleCheck work even though my processor's speed means I should always get LL work.

How can I force LL testing? Also how can I make sure I only get 10 million+ digit assignments? I have many machines on the job doing all sorts of stuff but I want this one to be my special big number system for the time being!

I can't seem to find this info on the forums, any pointers would be excellent.

Thanks for a great site.

wreck 2006-03-21 05:13

Test -> PrimeNet would helpful to you
 
select the menu of Test -> PrimeNet
and then uncheck the item of
"Request whatever type of work makes the most sense"

select a proper type of numbers to caculate under the
four types.

Unregistered 2006-03-21 08:21

Ahh, no problems - I have done this and it changes a value in prime.ini from WorkPreference=0 to WorkPreference=18

From a cursory look, I am not sure if that is all that's changed but it seems to be the case.

Thank you again for your assistance.

lycorn 2006-03-21 22:08

[QUOTE=Unregistered]From a cursory look, I am not sure if that is all that's changed but it seems to be the case.
[/QUOTE]
Yes, that´s all you have to do.

Unregistered 2006-03-22 15:30

what's the workpreference code for just LL testing (not 10M digits)?

Uncwilly 2006-03-22 17:07

Use the menu. Under 'Test'->'PrimeNet'. It is faster than editting the .ini

patrik 2006-03-25 11:27

0 Request whatever type of work makes the most sense
1 Request Mersenne numbers to factor
2 Request Mersenne numbers to run primality tests
4 Request Mersenne numbers to double check
16 Request 10,000,000 digit numbers to test

Jamiaz 2006-03-26 03:34

What would putting an 8 do in there? Some old function that has been discontinued?

Unregistered 2006-03-26 04:39

newbie in Linux
 
I ' ve been running prime 95 since 1998 in WINDOZE. Now i change to Suse Linux and i don't know how to make an start on boot , as I did before. Someone can help me, please??. Thx in advance
Carlos

paulunderwood 2006-03-26 05:48

Suse's "rc.local" is called [URL="http://openskills.info/infobox.php?ID=944"]"/etc/init.d/boot.local"[/URL] to which should add the command line [URL="http://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=4505"]given by xilman (post 2.)[/URL]


All times are UTC. The time now is 19:36.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.