mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   Hardware (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   password problem (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=21389)

wildrabbitt 2016-06-21 07:13

password problem
 
If there is a password on the BIOS of a machine, can I change things so that there isn't?

S485122 2016-06-21 08:34

Yes, you can reset the password but you must know it. Then you go in the BIOS choose change the password and leave the new password field blank.

If you do not know the password, it is easy on most desktop boards to reset the BIOS completely, that will rest the password as well.

On a laptop it is not as easy.

A good way to answer your question yourself is to get a user manual of the computer (laptop, motherboard...)

Jacob

wildrabbitt 2016-06-21 17:26

I found the machine in a skip.

It's one of these :

[url]http://www.parkytowers.me.uk/thin/wyse/vx0/WyseV90.shtml[/url]

I've tried taking out the BIOS battery but the BIOS still wants the password.


Not sure what to do.

Madpoo 2016-06-21 17:56

[QUOTE=wildrabbitt;436639]I found the machine in a skip.

It's one of these :

[url]http://www.parkytowers.me.uk/thin/wyse/vx0/WyseV90.shtml[/url]

I've tried taking out the BIOS battery but the BIOS still wants the password.


Not sure what to do.[/QUOTE]

The BIOS settings are probably in a little NVRAM so removing the battery wouldn't help. Typically there would be a dipswitch somewhere that you flip on (or off, as the case may be) and then power up to clear the BIOS. Turn off, flip the switch back to the default position, and there you go.

What a funky little machine that is...

xilman 2016-06-21 17:58

does "Fireport" work. How about "G-Key reset"?

Note that I know nothing about these things other than what I've read from a search on "Wyse +Vx0 bios reset" and, in particular, [url]http://support.rm.com/_rmvirtual/Media/Downloads/wyse-xenith-administrators-guide.pdf[/url] and [url]https://support.wyse.com/OA_HTML/csksxvm.jsp?nSetId=26017&nUsePub=NO&jttst0=6_23871,23871,-1,0,&jtfm0=&etfm1=&jfn=ZG3B5FD822F9FC2FB496A2C0B517E04AF1474341939E84D5809D8958526B950B666ED4FDB321AE7120B70CBA432E1BB5DC6B&oas=GgMYA0TfWOjvXy-PxMq4WQ[/url]..

wildrabbitt 2016-06-22 10:03

What does a dipswitch look like?

The machine does not have a firewire socket in it.

Don't know what "G-key" reset is so looking it up now.

xilman 2016-06-22 10:25

[QUOTE=wildrabbitt;436694]What does a dipswitch look like?

The machine does not have a firewire socket in it.

Don't know what "G-key" reset is so looking it up now.[/QUOTE]The factory default passwd is "Fireport", case-sensitive. Nothing to do with firewire.

LaurV 2016-06-24 13:13

[QUOTE=wildrabbitt;436694]What does a dipswitch look like?
[/QUOTE]
It looks [URL="http://lmgtfy.com/?q=dip+switch"]like this[/URL] :razz:

wildrabbitt 2016-06-25 10:16

Thianks for all the replies.


I've used Fireport to get into the BIOS .


I can't get the system specs because the version of XP installed on it is

totally in KEEP ALL iNFO UNAVAILABLE TO USERR MODE.

I tried installing Ubuntu Pangolin on it but I think it wouldn't go on there because there isn't enough memory.

So I'm trying to install tinycore linux on it.

I've never managed to do a hard install of tinycore but I'm going to keep trying.

Keep posting suggestions if there are any.

Thanks for the help.


All times are UTC. The time now is 14:02.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.