mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   Software (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   FP64 or FP32 (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=22028)

marigonzes 2017-02-10 18:56

FP64 or FP32
 
I have a question about the software. I was wondering if it makes more use of FP64 or FP32, i.e, double precision or single precision operations. I am thinking of acquiring a graphics card and I would like to take into account the needs of prime95.

Thank you.

Mark Rose 2017-02-10 20:22

Prime95 doesn't use a graphics card, but performs best with Intel CPUs supporting AVX2 and the all the memory channels populated with the fastest dual-rank memory supported by the CPU.

marigonzes 2017-02-10 20:28

Ok. And what about Trial Factoring on a GPU? Does it make a difference in that case?

VBCurtis 2017-02-10 21:02

The version of the software that does use a GPU, CUDALucas, uses DP operations for the lucas-lehmer test.

henryzz 2017-02-10 23:13

[QUOTE=marigonzes;452727]Ok. And what about Trial Factoring on a GPU? Does it make a difference in that case?[/QUOTE]
Trial factoring uses SP

TheJudger 2017-02-11 01:06

TF on GPU (mfakt[co]) is using 32bit (unsigned) [B]integers[/B] most of the time.


All times are UTC. The time now is 06:41.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.