mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   PrimeNet (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   PrimeNet error 40 (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=17800)

thomasthomas 2013-02-14 22:45

PrimeNet error 40
 
Hi,

I have got a problem with the Prime95 and I don't know what to do. The thing is, I started a LL test for a special exponent (55130227) and while it's working I sometimes get these messages:

Registering assignment: LL55130227
PrimeNet error 40: no assignment
ra: already assigned, exponent: 55130227, A: 1, b: 2, c:-1
Done communicating with the server.

I installed the programme a week ago and at first I didn't know what exponent I might test, so I got tasks from the server to get them done.
When it was working, the connection between the Prime95 and the server was right. However, since I started to test this one, I've been getting these new messages from time to time, and I reckon something's wrong with it. I haven't changed anything since then; so far as the firewall is concerned.

What's more, even in the site (Mersenne.org), when I sign in it's like I'm doing nothing, because it doesn't know what I've been doing for 4 days. Before testing this exponent, it was working perfectly all right and I knew what I was doing in the programme after I logged in..

Thanks in advance

Tom

Dubslow 2013-02-14 23:02

That's because that exponent is [URL="http://mersenne.org/report_exponent/?exp_lo=55130227"]assigned for LL testing[/URL] [i]to someone else[/i]. PrimeNet avoids duplicate work by assigning each exponent to only one person. This one is assigned to someone else, and it would seem from your description that you don't have any valid assignments, which is why PrimeNet "thinks you're doing nothing".

The owner of the exponent probably wouldn't appreciated it if you turned in a result before they did, even if they had the assignment. We call this poaching, and it's generally frowned upon.

sdbardwick 2013-02-14 23:06

That exponent was assigned to another user back in May 2012: [URL="http://mersenne.org/report_exponent/?exp_lo=55130227&exp_hi=10000&B1=Get+status"]Link[/URL]
Remove it from your worktodo.txt file and get a new assignment from PrimeNet.

flashjh 2013-02-14 23:31

Just wondering... how did you end up working on M[URL="http://www.mersenne.org/report_exponent/?exp_lo=55130227&exp_hi=10000&B1=Get+status"]55130227[/URL]?

thomasthomas 2013-02-14 23:33

Thank you for your answers.

I knew that i'd been given to someone else but I would've had time to test it and asked myself "why not"?

Now I'm testing a new prime and as it happens, it's working all right:)

I'm sorry for the dummy question, I should've thought of it.

Tom

thomasthomas 2013-02-14 23:43

[QUOTE=flashjh;329531]Just wondering... how did you end up working on M[URL="http://www.mersenne.org/report_exponent/?exp_lo=55130227&exp_hi=10000&B1=Get+status"]55130227[/URL]?[/QUOTE]

Well, finding a new Mersenne prime would be great in one way, but I know I don't really stand a chance. For now, I chose that prime for "testing" how Prime95's working.

flashjh 2013-02-15 00:43

Right, but I was curious how you got to actually testing that exponent since it was assigned to someone almost a year ago? Did you add it manually or did you have it assigned before the current person and you were working on finishing it?

If it was manually, why did you pick that one?

thomasthomas 2013-02-15 15:51

[QUOTE=flashjh;329540]Right, but I was curious how you got to actually testing that exponent since it was assigned to someone almost a year ago? Did you add it manually or did you have it assigned before the current person and you were working on finishing it?

If it was manually, why did you pick that one?[/QUOTE]

I picked that exponent at random and it'd been tested for 4 days before I stopped the running. Then, I was looking for another one which hasn't been assigned to anyone. Now all I have to do is to wait. It's going to take at least 3 months.

Alpha2378 2018-12-25 13:44

I got the reply message after few hours and during this interval I had lost internet connection. Kindly help.

kriesel 2018-12-27 16:34

[QUOTE=Alpha2378;503930]I got the reply message after few hours and during this interval I had lost internet connection. Kindly help.[/QUOTE]
Fix the internet issue, confirm with something else like web browser or ping. Then you can either stop and restart prime95, or just wait while it continues to work on assignments it already has. It will typically retry every 70 minutes or so to communicate with the server.


All times are UTC. The time now is 13:43.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.