mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   Riesel Prime Search (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=59)
-   -   RPS benchmarks (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=19050)

kracker 2014-05-04 16:16

Intel is much faster(right now) than AMD, especially with FMA3.

pinhodecarlos 2014-05-04 16:20

But Intel servers costs much more. I was hoping that AMD's were capable of running LLR with avx but it is not the case. I will have to stick with a fleet of desktop cpu's.

Batalov 2014-05-04 20:59

[CODE]Starting Lucas Lehmer Riesel prime test of 179*2^1636808-1
Using AMD K8 FFT length 112K, Pass1=448, Pass2=256
179*2^1636808-1, iteration : 10000 / 1636808 [0.61%]. Time per iteration : 3.301 ms.
@vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 15
model : 65
model name : Dual-Core AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 8220 SE
stepping : 2
cpu MHz : 2800.305
cache size : 1024 KB

Starting Lucas Lehmer Riesel prime test of 179*2^1636808-1
Using Pentium4 FFT length 112K, Pass1=448, Pass2=256
179*2^1636808-1, iteration : 10000 / 1636808 [0.61%]. Time per iteration : 1.298 ms.
@vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 26
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU X5570 @ 2.93GHz
stepping : 5
cpu MHz : 2926.102
cache size : 8192 KB[/CODE]
Opteron 8220 is a [B]very [/B]old series though (~2007).
[URL="http://www.cpubenchmark.net/multi_cpu.html"]X5570[/URL] is not new either (~2009).

P.S. We are talking about multi-CPU servers here.
[QUOTE=pinhodecarlos;372612]I was in doubt because it is much cheaper to buy an AMD server with 4 processors than one from Intel. Thank you.[/QUOTE]
Servers are conservatively clocked and quite expensive.
Tom's got some special deal at some point. Ask him.

kracker 2014-05-04 22:35

Intel i5 4670k at 4.0GHz

[code]
Starting Lucas Lehmer Riesel prime test of 179*2^1636808-1
Using FMA3 FFT length 100K, Pass1=320, Pass2=320
V1 = 4 ; Computing U0...
V1 = 4 ; Computing U0...done.
Starting Lucas-Lehmer loop...
179*2^1636808-1, iteration : 10000 / 1636808 [0.61%]. Time per iteration : 0.335 ms.
179*2^1636808-1, iteration : 20000 / 1636808 [1.22%]. Time per iteration : 0.318 ms.
179*2^1636808-1, iteration : 30000 / 1636808 [1.83%]. Time per iteration : 0.317 ms.
179*2^1636808-1, iteration : 40000 / 1636808 [2.44%]. Time per iteration : 0.317 ms.
179*2^1636808-1, iteration : 50000 / 1636808 [3.05%]. Time per iteration : 0.316 ms.
179*2^1636808-1, iteration : 60000 / 1636808 [3.66%]. Time per iteration : 0.317 ms.
[/code]

fivemack 2014-05-05 07:49

The four-socket Opteron system I have cost me £4344 in April 2011

£1589 for the chassis and SSD
£1075 for sixteen 4G DIMMs
£1680 (special price) for four 1.9GHz Opteron 6168

For comparable performance on GNFS sieving, I'd now need two and a half Haswell 4770 boxes; I would have change from £2000 even if I bought three. And for linear algebra the i7-4930K box is no slower than running 48-way MPI on the Opteron, and much less disruptive (because I have to reboot the Opteron and lose all the state in the jobs on it to make the MPI work at full efficiency).

So I'd not really recommend large servers; you're paying more for the convenience than it's worth. Having 64G of memory available all at once is occasionally very useful, but you can now do that on a single-socket Socket 2011 platform.

pinhodecarlos 2014-05-05 11:58

I really think for the moment the best choice is to have a fleet of Intel's i5 4670k to run some LLR. I would consider AMD servers to help NFS@home in sieving but my priority right now is LLRing.
Thank you guys.

kracker 2014-05-05 14:24

[QUOTE=pinhodecarlos;372685]I really think for the moment the best choice is to have a fleet of Intel's i5 4670k to run some LLR. I would consider AMD servers to help NFS@home in sieving but my priority right now is LLRing.
Thank you guys.[/QUOTE]

If you don't overclock, get the 4670(not the K)

pinhodecarlos 2014-05-05 16:42

1 Attachment(s)
Check this budget.

kracker 2014-05-05 16:49

[QUOTE=pinhodecarlos;372706]Check this budget.[/QUOTE]

Hmm.. I'm assuming it's not just for LLR alone.

Also, it will be AVX, not FMA3 since it is not a Haswell CPU. You may want to wait a few more months for the 8-core Haswells to come out, but all your choice :smile:

pinhodecarlos 2014-05-05 18:04

Checking AMD 6380 specs it says it features:

FMA3 / 3-operand Fused Multiply-Add instructions
FMA4 / 4-operand Fused Multiply-Add instructions
AVX / Advanced Vector Extensions

I still don't understand why it is not worth to use LLR on it.
Just asked a budge for a quad 6380.

Carlos

kracker 2014-05-05 18:16

[QUOTE=pinhodecarlos;372711]Checking AMD 6380 specs it says it features:

FMA3 / 3-operand Fused Multiply-Add instructions
FMA4 / 4-operand Fused Multiply-Add instructions
AVX / Advanced Vector Extensions

I still don't understand why it is not worth to use LLR on it.
Just asked a budge for a quad 6380.

Carlos[/QUOTE]

AMD supports then all. But AMD CPU's suck at them, and are often faster without them.


All times are UTC. The time now is 23:36.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.