mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   PrimeNet (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   "Optional user ID" automatically reset (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=10989)

g0vegan 2008-11-17 04:33

"Optional user ID" automatically reset
 
This is very frustrating. A few hours ago, for some unknown reason (there were no reboots or anything else out of the ordinary), my User ID field was blanked on one of my 3 machines. I am referring to the User ID that is set under "Test/PrimeNet.../Optional user ID".

I therefore went from having work credited to my ID, to being credited to "ANONYMOUS", and lost almost 2GHz-days of credit.

I only noticed this because even though I have 3 computers participating, only 2 were listed in my list of computers on the PrimeNet Summary page.

Has anyone else experienced this? Could it be something that the PrimeNet server sent to my computer?

petrw1 2008-11-17 04:39

[QUOTE=g0vegan;149585]This is very frustrating. A few hours ago, for some unknown reason (there were no reboots or anything else out of the ordinary), my User ID field was blanked on one of my 3 machines. I am referring to the User ID that is set under "Test/PrimeNet.../Optional user ID".

I therefore went from having work credited to my ID, to being credited to "ANONYMOUS", and lost almost 2GHz-days of credit.

I only noticed this because even though I have 3 computers participating, only 2 were listed in my list of computers on the PrimeNet Summary page.

Has anyone else experienced this? Could it be something that the PrimeNet server sent to my computer?[/QUOTE]

Yes... see this post.
[url]http://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?p=149586#post149586[/url]

starting about post #79.

g0vegan 2008-11-17 04:57

[quote=petrw1;149588]Yes... see this post.
[URL]http://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?p=149586#post149586[/URL]

starting about post #79.[/quote]

Thanks, it is reassuring to see that it's not only me. Sounds like a bug of some sort... perhaps Prime95 should be showing a warning if the User ID is blank but the computer name is not... like in the case above, only the User ID was reset in my case.

Interestingly, everything was running fine since "the great crash" and I had successfully submitted over 3,000 results under my User ID. Then this, all of a sudden. :confused:

starrynte 2008-11-20 03:58

confirmed here, computer name filled but user id blank


All times are UTC. The time now is 19:40.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.