mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   Software (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Primenet error 30: CPU not registered (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=19842)

Jud McCranie 2014-11-24 00:53

Primenet error 30: CPU not registered
 
I ran GIMPS for 8 years or so, then about 2 years ago I switched to Seventeen or Bust. Right now I have three computers each running four instances of Prime95. About a day ago, one one of the computers I've been using for about 2-3 years, I started getting the message:

Primenet error 30: CPU not registered
ERROR_UNREGISTERED_CPU
retry count exceeded

It tries again in 70 minutes; gets the same thing.

The other two computers don't have this problem. What is the problem and how can it be fixed?

Prime95 2014-11-24 01:42

Good question. I'm guessing that for some reason prime95 has forgotten its UID. This can legitimately happen if prime95 thinks it might be running on a new computer (significantly different hardware specs or OS specs), or it can happen due to bugs in prime95 or corrupt files.

You might try replacing prime.txt and local.txt with a backup from a few weeks ago.

You might try creating a new folder with a default install of the SoB client. Let it register as a new computer, then copy over the old prime.spl and merge the worktodo.txt files and copy over any save files. I'm not sure if this will work as I'm not familiar with the SoB server.

Mark Rose 2014-11-24 01:59

For what it's worth, I've never had trouble moving assignments in worktodo.txt, save files, and even local.txt between computers with SoB. I've even accidentally run the exact same local.txt on multiple computers at the same time and it's worked. The SoB server doesn't seem very picky.

Jud McCranie 2014-11-24 02:12

I have old prime.txt and local.txt files. Will replacing them cause me to lose work, or cause me to lose credit for work done?

Mark Rose 2014-11-24 02:37

[QUOTE=Jud McCranie;388301]I have old prime.txt and local.txt files. Will replacing them cause me to lose work, or cause me to lose credit for work done?[/QUOTE]

Nothing in local.txt matters. In prime.txt, only two things are important:
[code]
V5UserID=YOUR_SOB_USERNAME
[/code]

And set MersenneIP in the PrimeNet section:
[code]
[PrimeNet]
MersenneIP=www.seventeenorbust.com
[/code]

All the work is stored in results.txt, worktodo.txt, and the various pNNNNN_MMMMMMMM* files.

Jud McCranie 2014-11-24 03:53

[QUOTE=Mark Rose;388302]Nothing in local.txt matters. In prime.txt, only two things are important:
[code]
V5UserID=YOUR_SOB_USERNAME
[/code]

And set MersenneIP in the PrimeNet section:
[code]
[PrimeNet]
MersenneIP=www.seventeenorbust.com
[/code]

The user ID is OK. The MersenneIP is

[U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]MersenneIP[/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][/U][SIZE=4]=[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]sb[/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][/U][SIZE=4].[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]pns[/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][/U][SIZE=4].net[/SIZE]


but that is the same thing as it was over 2 years ago. And at least one of the computers that is working has the same thing.

The local.txt file has changed quite a bit (should I change the ComputerGUID back to the old one?

======================
[SIZE=4]current local.[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]txt[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]
------------------
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]OldCpuSpeed[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=3392
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]NewCpuSpeedCount[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=0
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]NewCpuSpeed[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=0
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]RollingAverage[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=901
RollingAverageIsFromV27=1
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]ComputerGUID[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=54d46c7514257fc78615fae26abef2c9
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]ComputerID[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=
SrvrP00=10
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]LastEndDatesSent[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=1416712128
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]RollingHash[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=1927776584
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]RollingStartTime[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=1416749316
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]RollingCompleteTime[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=465843
Affinity=100
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]ThreadsPerTest[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=1

=================================

Old local.[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]txt[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]
----------------
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]OldCpuSpeed[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=3536
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]ComputerGUID[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=cb0c499ac25136d5765b3a621d3c2387
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]SrvrUID[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=928561183
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]ComputerID[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]SrvrComputerName[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=2075700499
SrvrPO1=0
SrvrPO2=1
SrvrPO3=13
SrvrPO4=256
SrvrPO5=256
SrvrPO6=630
SrvrPO7=90
SrvrPO8=1
SrvrPO9=4
SrvrP00=7
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]LastEndDatesSent[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=1339943774
Memory=256 during 10:30-1:30 else 256
Affinity=100
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]ThreadsPerTest[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=2
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]RollingHash[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=-366051531
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]RollingStartTime[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=1339964849
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]RollingCompleteTime[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=788799
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]RollingAverage[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=1025
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]NewCpuSpeedCount[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=0
[/SIZE][U][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000]NewCpuSpeed[/U][/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=4]=0
RollingAverageIsFromV27=1
AffinityScramble2=01234567

[/SIZE]

Mark Rose 2014-11-24 03:58

[url]www.seventeenorbust.com[/url] and sob.pns.net both resolve to the same ip, 69.9.160.186. I guess either works!

Prime95 2014-11-24 05:03

[QUOTE=Jud McCranie;388308]
The local.txt file has changed quite a bit (should I change the ComputerGUID back to the old one?[/QUOTE]

Make a backup, then try it.

Jud McCranie 2014-11-24 05:51

[QUOTE=Prime95;388314]Make a backup, then try it.[/QUOTE]

OK, I thought the safest thing to do was to make a complete backup of the folder, download the zip file from 17 or bust, unzip it to the same folder, overwriting anything that exists, and update prime.txt. I still get the same error. (I also get it if I do manual communication.)

I don't know if this means anything, but it says "retry count exceeded".

I had 10 instances running on 3 computers, with exponents in the 29,000,000 range. About 2 weeks ago I discovered that I was assigned an exponent under 10,000,000! I wanted more of those - I figured they had just been released! I can do one of them in a day or day and a half, rather than 7-8 days - and they are more likely to be prime.

I added 8 more instances to grab all of the small exponents I could. I had been making changes to my WorkToDo file to move the 29,000,000 ones to the bottom. Then a day or two ago I decided to "expire" the 29-million exponents. That is about when the problem started on this computer. During that period I did a lot of manual communication to get small exponents.

Could that have anything to do with the problem?

=====
added

Or maybe I should start with a new, empty folder, unzip to there, and copy the necessary data files over?

Prime95 2014-11-24 13:43

We're just trying things til we find something that works....

1) Try deleting the prime.spl file. It may have some malformed messages in there.

2) Yes, try a fresh install in a new directory only copying the minimum necessary files.

Jud McCranie 2014-11-24 20:00

I stopped P95, exited, renamed prime.spl and restarted and that seems to have worked. It communicated with the server and sent a bunch of completion dates, and I don't see the error message.

Thanks for all of the help!

PS - it did not make a new prime.spl file. Is that OK?


All times are UTC. The time now is 07:36.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.