mersenneforum.org

mersenneforum.org (https://www.mersenneforum.org/index.php)
-   Information & Answers (https://www.mersenneforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   adding a computer running mprime (https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=11382)

Unregistered 2009-01-22 04:55

adding a computer running mprime
 
Hi all. I just got a third home desktop, it's running ubuntu linux and mprime and i was wondering how i could add the computer to my user/team? i looked through the files in the mprime folder and it wasn't very obvious on how to link it to my user. help would be appreciated

Mr. P-1 2009-01-22 16:25

When you run the program for the first time, it will ask for your username.

Unregistered 2009-01-22 19:52

really? b/c i got it running and it didn't. mprime doesn't have a gui

Prime95 2009-01-23 01:31

[QUOTE=Unregistered;159884]really? b/c i got it running and it didn't. mprime doesn't have a gui[/QUOTE]

Try "./mprime -m"

Unregistered 2009-01-26 23:59

as a directory or a terminal command? i dont understand what that means

Mr. P-1 2009-01-28 15:42

As a terminal command. Once you have it properly set up, you can run it as a daemon.

Unregistered 2009-01-31 23:12

it didn't work!

Unregistered 2009-02-05 03:19

i couldn't get that to work. anything else i can do?

markr 2009-02-05 10:24

Just what did it do - an error message, nothing? I assume you (in terminal) changed to the directory where mprime is, then entered:
./mprime -m
then what happened?

Carlos56 2009-02-05 13:55

about permissions
 
Hi. Open a terminal, switchh to the folder where youuuu downloaded mprime, and in that place type <chmod a+x mprime>. That will make mprime executable and then yes type <./mprime -m>. Assumed you know about <top>, <kill> and basic Linux commands.

Unregistered 2009-02-07 06:14

how do i 'switch to the folder' because i have it downloaded to the desktop?

Mr. P-1 2009-02-09 17:45

[QUOTE=Unregistered;161947]how do i 'switch to the folder' because i have it downloaded to the desktop?[/QUOTE]

What Desktop are you using? (The two most common are gnome and KDE, but there are others.)

You said that you'd "looked through the files in the mprime folder". How did you do this?

markr 2009-02-09 20:48

If you're using the "default" Ubuntu rather than Kubuntu or something else, and haven't changed much, then you very likely have Gnome as your desktop manager. In that case, to change to the desktop in terminal, type:
cd ~/Desktop

To see if mprime is currently running, type top (q to exit). Mprime should be first in the list.

Mprime's menu's: ./mprime -m
To start mprime running in the background: ./mprime &

To see if mprime has made its auxiliary & temporary files, the simplest way is just to browse mprime's folder by double-clicking on it. (Don't open prime.txt, local.txt, worktodo.txt, results.txt, or prime.log while mprime's running, in case it needs to write to them.)

Unlike the Other Operating System, you'll have to manually set things up so mprime automatically starts when linux does or when you login. There are various ways to do this.

Unregistered 2009-02-12 00:19

it tells me ./mprime -m doesn't exit even though the folder was extracted to the desktop. i still don't know how to add the computer to my account.

Mr. P-1 2009-02-16 14:01

[QUOTE=Unregistered;162529]it tells me ./mprime -m doesn't exit even though the folder was extracted to the desktop. i still don't know how to add the computer to my account.[/QUOTE]

Doesn't exit? Or doesn't exist?

If you meant to say "doesn't exist", have you run the chmod command on it as suggested by Carlos56?


All times are UTC. The time now is 05:59.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.